PRAISE FOR AL CAPONE


 

“National Book Award-winning biographer Bair (Samuel Beckett) interrogates the notion of the “real” Al Capone (1899–1947)….The biography is a meticulously researched and thorough account of the man described by a reporter in 1931 as ‘gorgeously and typically American.’”

Publishers Weekly

 

“Deirdre Bair’s enticing new gangster biography knocks it out of the park. In the hands of a master life-storyteller, Al Capone’s brief, explosive career seems as all-American as apple pie and sawed-off shotguns. Fans of The Godfather, The Sopranos, or Boardwalk Empire are sure to find the book addictive.”

Marion Meade,
author of Bobbed Hair and Bathtub Gin: Writers Running Wild in the Twenties

 

“His name is recognized worldwide: Al Capone, crime boss and vicious killer. But the real man was much more complex. Mastering everything known about Capone while blending first-ever contributions from his extended clan, Deirdre Bair has sifted fact from countless fictions to produce an intimate, psychologically astute, and richly embroidered biography of the most famous criminal in American history.”

Dick Lehr,
coauthor of Black Mass: Whitey Bulger, the FBI, and a Devil’s Deal

 

“Deirdre Bair’s command of her subject is encyclopedic. Al Capone not only tells us about America’s quintessential gangster, but also about the ineffectual politicians and misguided laws that paved the way for him. Never before have we had such a complete and engrossing picture of Capone’s life and times.”

Nicholas Pileggi,
author of Wiseguy: Life in a Mafia Family and
screenwriter of Goodfellas and Casino

 

“The name ‘Al Capone’ is so ingrained in the American consciousness, it’s hard to believe that another biography could enhance our understanding of his life and underworld empire. Yet Deirdre Bair deftly disproves that notion. Beautifully researched and immensely readable, Al Capone peels away layers to reveal a consistently surprising and exquisitely complex portrait of the man behind the legend.”

Karen Abbott,
author of Sin in the Second City: Madams, Ministers, Playboys, and the Battle for America’s Soul