Coming October 25, 2016

Al Capone

His Life, Legacy, and Legend

“Deirdre Bair’s enticing new gangster biography knocks it out of the park... Fans of The Godfather, The Sopranos, or Boardwalk Empire are sure to find the book addictive.”

—Marion Meade, author of Bobbed Hair and Bathtub Gin: Writers Running Wild in the Twenties


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

DEIRDRE BAIR received the National Book Award for Samuel Beckett: A Biography. Her biographies of Simone de Beauvoir and Carl Jung were finalists for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and her biography of Simone de Beauvoir was chosen by The New York Times as a Best Book of the Year. Her biography of Anaïs Nin and her most recent book, Saul Steinberg: A Biography, were both New York Times Notable Books.

LEARN MORE

PRAISE FOR AL CAPONE

National Book Award-winning biographer Bair (Samuel Beckett) interrogates the notion of the “real” Al Capone (1899–1947)….The biography is a meticulously researched and thorough account of the man described by a reporter in 1931 as ‘gorgeously and typically American.’

Publishers Weekly

Deirdre Bair’s command of her subject is encyclopedic. Al Capone not only tells us about America’s quintessential gangster, but also about the ineffectual politicians and misguided laws that paved the way for him. Never before have we had such a complete and engrossing picture of Capone’s life and times.

Nicholas Pileggi, author of Wiseguy: Life in a Mafia Family and screenwriter of Goodfellas and Casino

MORE PRAISE